Where Everyone is Welcome         Anything is possible         Nobody is Perfect         Where the Love is lived out
8 - Steps

Life Hurt, God Heals - 8 Steps Program

group picLet’s face it, sometimes LIFE HURTS and we get caught up in habits that are hard to break. If you are dealing with pain (who isn’t?) including: addictions, family dynamics, eating disorders, abuse, drinking, cutting, etc., then LIFE HURTS GOD HEALS is for you. Hundreds of students have gone through this and many lives were changed. Come check this out.

Life Hurts God Heals (LHGH) is specifically for students who are dealing with unresolved hurts and pain including: troubled family dynamics such as divorce, blended family, absent parent(s) behavioral issues, addictions; drinking, cutting, eating disorders, etc.

If you are familiar with 12-step programs (i.e., Alcohol Anonymous, Overeaters Anonymous, etc) then you understand the basic structure for Life Hurts God Heals. However, Life Hurts God Heals is an 8-step group targeted specifically for students in middle school through high school age, and is based on the beatitudes from the Bible. This curriculum provides lifelong tools for students dealing with unresolved hurt and pain.

Step 1: Get help. I admit that I am powerless and that I need help.
Happy are those who know they are spiritually poor (Matthew 5:3).

Step 2: Open your heart. I now know that God exists, that I matter to Him, and that He is the only One who has the power to heal my pain.
Happy are those who mourn. God will comfort them (Matthew 5:4).

Step 3: Depend on Christ. I realize I need to turn my life over to Christ. I need to depend on Him in all areas of my life, including all that I say, think, and do.
Happy are the humble (Matthew 5:5).

Step 4: Hear and speak. I agree to evaluate my life and confess my faults to myself, to God, and to someone whom I trust. Happy are the pure in heart (Matthew 5:8).

Step 5: Embrace God’s way. I will stop doing things my way and put my life on the path that leads toward God’s way. Happy are those whose greatest desire is to do what God requires (Matthew 5:6).

Step 6: Ask for forgiveness. I will offer forgiveness to those who have hurt me, and I will ask for forgiveness for any wrong I’ve done to others.
Happy are the merciful. Happy are the peacemakers (Matthew 5:7,9).

Step 7: Live for God. I will set aside some time for God each day to examine my life, read my Bible, and pray so that I have the power to live God’s way.
Happy are those who know they are spiritually poor (Matthew 5:3).

Step 8: Share with others. I will take the message that God heals to others in need and share it by my words and actions. Happy are those who are persecuted because they do what God requires (Matthew 5:10).

 Contact: Director Richard Alvarez | 408-979-3087  |  ralvarez@cathedraloffaith.org



Saturday  5 PM  
Sunday  8:30 AM | 10 AM | 11:45 AM

Sunday  2 PM

Wednesday 7:30 PM